Latest News


Photo by Aaron Crisler / The Judy Nelon Group


NASHVILLE, TENN. (July 22, 2011) – The HARMONY HONORS were presented at TBN's Music City Auditorium on Monday, July 18 with a night of exciting performances and special presentations to distinguished honorees CLAUDE AND CONNIE HOPPER and JEFF AND SHERI EASTER. The ninth annual event was presented by the Southern Gospel Music Guild and hosted by Grammy® Award-winning vocalist JASON CRABB. The evening featured an all star line-up of musical performances and appearances by THE BOWLING FAMILY, THE HOPPERS, JEFF & SHERI EASTER, KAREN PECK & NEW RIVER, KEVIN WILLIAMS, LEGACY FIVE, LES BEASLEY, THE MARTINS, THE NELONS, TRIUMPHANT QUARTET and SGMG PRESIDENT CLARKE BEASLEY.

Special Harmony Honor presentations were made to Claude and Connie Hopper, celebrating 50 years of marriage and music ministry, and Jeff and Sheri Easter, celebrating 25 years of marriage and music ministry. These special tributes were highlighted by video tributes from friends including BILL GAITHER, MARK LOWRY, and THE BOOTH BROTHERS.

HARMONY HONORSHarmony Honors Special Presentation L-R: Jeff, Morgan & Sheri Easter, Clarke Beasley (SGMG President),
Host Jason Crabb, Dean & Kim Hopper, Les Beasley (NQC President), Mike Hopper, Connie & Claude Hopper.
Photo by Aaron Crisler/The Judy Nelon Group

SGMG President Clarke Beasley stated: "The entire SGMG (Southern Gospel Music Guild) was thrilled with the Harmony Honors presentation, and those who attended were really treated to an example of our music at its finest as the performances were strong and the production was first class. We felt it really made a strong statement about the level of talent with which our music is blessed, and we are eager for the response the telecast will receive."

TBN will broadcast The Harmony Honors on FRIDAY, JULY 22, 2011 at 9 PM CST/10 PM EST.

Viewers are encouraged to email to thank them for airing the show.

For more information, visit



Oak Ridge Boys to receive 2010 SGMG President's Honor

The SGMG Executive Board are happy to announce the Oak Ridge Boys are the 2010 recipients of the SGMG President's Honor during the SGMG Harmony Honors at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel on April 19, 2010. All four members of the Oak Ridge Boys (Duane Allen, Joe Bonsall, William Lee Golden, and Richard Sterban) graciously accepted our invitation and will attend.

Quote from Duane Allen: "I have always felt that it was a huge honor to be recognized by your hometown or from one's roots. Gospel music is the foundation of The Oak Ridge Boys' music, Southern style quartet music. I would like to thank all of the former members of The Oak Ridge Boys' organization for laying the groundwork for all of us, and to offer my deepest gratitude to the SGMG for this wonderful honor."

Judy Nelon
SGMG President

SGMG Announces New Executive Board


Richard Green (EMI Christian Music Group Exec. VP & General Counsel) was the official speaker covering "State of the Music Industry: Surviving the Digital Era" during SGMG’s board meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. Pictured Seated L-R: Rhonda Thompson, Judy Nelon, Richard Green, Chris White; Standing L-R: Joy Fletcher, Emily Higinbotham, Ed Harper, Tammy Kirkland, Donnie Williamson, Melinda Hames, Cricket Lee, Clarke Beasley, Beckie Simmons Bates, Ed Leonard, Gary Casto, Michael Davis. (photo by Crystal Burchette-Johnson)

Nashville, Tenn - The SGMG (Southern Gospel Music Guild) elected their 2008-2009 Executive Board during an annual membership meeting in Louisville, Kentucky. Newly elected officers include Judy Nelon, President; Beckie Simmons-Bates, Vice-President; Clarke Beasley, Vice-President; Les Butler, Vice-President; Gary Casto, Vice-President; Ed Harper, Vice-President; Zane King, Vice-President; Crystal Burchette-Johnson, Publicist; Melinda Hames, Treasurer and Rhonda Thompson, Secretary. The Executive Board is pleased to announce the SGMG will be hosting it's annual Harmony Honors on Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at the Renaissance Hotel Ballroom located downtown Nashville, Tennessee. The event will be presented during the annual GMA Week/Dove Awards, April 18-22, 2009.

The SGMG held its first official board meeting in Nashville, Tennessee at the BMI building located on Music Row. Executive Vice-President and General Counsel for EMI CMG, Richard Green was the featured speaker. Green handles all the legal issues that face EMI CMG, but has done extensive work on the legal aspect of problems that face today’s music industry. He spoke to SGMG members about illegal downloading, new laws to protect performers and writers, as well as where regulations are headed in the future. Green also encouraged everyone to join together and uphold a high level of recordings and use cyberspace to our advantage as much as possible for marketing purposes. SGMG President, Judy Nelon concluded the meeting by encouraging new members to join the SGMG in order to take advantage of speakers like Green during upcoming meetings.

In September, the SGMG recognized Bill and Gloria Gaither with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at a special VIP reception held during the 2008 National Quartet Convention. Newly elected SGMG President, Judy Nelon presented the honor where a group of industry friends and colleagues gathered to share in the special occasion. The afternoon celebration included congratulations and numerous stories from Les Beasley, NQC Executive Vice-President Clarke Beasley, ASCAP’s Dan Keen, Ken and Lisa Abraham, Ben Speer and Sue Dodge. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who exhibits and upholds the SGMG Mission Statement which states, “With Jesus Christ as our cornerstone, to create a cooperative environment designed to encourage excellence, education, awareness and growth, while preserving the essence of Southern Gospel Music” over a lifetime. Bill and Gloria concluded the event with separate speeches of appreciation to the southern gospel industry and the SGMG. The celebratory afternoon of recognition was sponsored by the National Quartet Convention.

Bookmark and Share